April came and went…

9 May

When I found out that I would be traveling for work the day after the Texas Independence Relay, my mind raced between “eff!! I can’t run TIR!!!!” and “If I don’t go on the trip will I get fired?”. I’m pretty sure I actually said that out loud to my friend/colleague/OG Rally Girl when she broke the news to me over dinner. Dramatic much?

As I thought about the 2012 and 2013 race, I realized I couldn’t just let 2014 go without a good college try. I had to relinquish a lot of the type A planning I have done in the past for the TIR and trust that the 11 ladies that signed up to do this race with me wouldn’t get bent out of shape if they didn’t have a laminated copy of their legs ready at the start line.

And trust they did.

Two newbie Rally Girls and nine veterans kicked ass while running 200 miles across Texas. I ran three legs on Saturday so I could peace out and prep for my week of travel. While it sounded like a good idea initially, it was probably one of the hardest “races” I’ve ever done. 8.5 miles on the side of a highway plus rolling hills plus 90 degree weather does not equal runner’s high. However, I made it through, and again had a super flexible, spirited and positive team to get me through it.

IMG_0916

As usual, the TIR was a great time. In the moment (aka running on dirt roads in the middle of no where is the scorching heat) it’s easy to question why the hell you’re doing it, but it’s genuinely one of my favorite races and events of the year. I am thankful to know so many women who are bad-ass enough to take on the challenge (and look the most stylish while doing so). Thanks to Jay and his team of people at TIR for making it such a great race (and the shirts are awesome this year btw!).

 

Holding down that #3 spot two years in a row

Holding down that #3 spot two years in a row

 

Here’s the training plan I made for the girls in case anyone is interested. It’s a compilation of Higdon half training and various “relay” training plans I found online.

“Highlights” of the 2014 race: reuniting with my runmance partner, sharing spring break deets, baby possum, compression socks and Mephistos, Lone Star in the resting van, runners saying you’re hardcore for doing 2 legs back to back, passing the slap bracelet off to Wales, watching Wales crush the last leg 3 years in a row, sleeping on the sidewalk in front of random businesses, the boy’s team, beating the tutus, and Van 1. Period.

Still chasing the number one spot…

xo HS

Leave a comment